Strokes

                                                                                       

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

©2008 Eldon Warren

It’s hard for me to pass up an art gallery. They’re like magnets. I try to go on past the door but something always says “go on in” and I’m easy. Sometimes it gets me in trouble. My interest in the artwork (I get nose to nose with the stuff I like) once in a while makes the gallery owner think I’m easy pickins for a sale. This was the case a while back in a nice gallery in Colorado Springs.

There was this small painting hanging on the wall behind a display case. It was an absolute jewell and even stood out among other work on the wall by the same artist. 8×10 maybe or 9×12 but small and it was reasonably priced. I wasn’t there to buy though, I was “just  lookin” but the lady figured she had a sale.

She took it off the wall and hung it in the air just in front of my face. Even at that range the painting was  great because now I could see the brush strokes. I could see the transparent color of some of the first strokes laid on the canvas. I could clearly see the next layering and the next, and the adding of opaque strokes over the initial transparent layers. Dang, I hope this guy knows what he’s done. But I wasn’t there to buy right? I was “just lookin”. The lady yanked the piece away and put it on an easel right out in the middle of the gallery. Wow! What a piece of work!

“I can call the artist”, she said “He lives close by and he’d love to come over and answer any questions you have.”

“No, we’ve got to get back to Denver, we really don’t have time.”

“Oh, it’s no trouble………”  On and on……

After several minutes of this I’m sayin to myself “Crap!” I gotta get outta here. I was dead in the middle of a hard sell and all I wanted  was to make it out the door post haste. I really liked that little painting but I wasn’t there to buy, I WAS JUST LOOKIN!!

After signing the guest book, giving her my email, two forms of ID and promising to come back with my whole family at my earliest opportunity I got out the door. What an experience! Geez, all I wanted was to see how that fabulous little painting was put together. I did get out the door with that much. I’m lucky in that respect but I’m missing the painting and I wish I had been an easier mark. I’ll go back when I get down there again and if by chance some other art lover hasn’t taken this piece home it’ll be coming home with me.

What did I see that so impressed me? Take a look at the painting above titled “The People Who Live In The Red House”. What I learned has morphed into what you’ll see. And below take a closer look at what I loved in that small painting. I hope you see it too.

And thank you brother artist for one of the finest art lessons of my life

Lots of dark transparent color with opaques worked over the top. 
detail:  upper left corner

A closer look at brushwork.

A closer look at brushwork.

The people who live in the red house
The people who live in the red house.
Leave a Reply

