3 paintings

Last Thursday I painted Van Bibber Park. The smoke from a fire near Craig Co. had blown in and anything much more than a mile away had turned a wonderful hazy blue. A fire burning up our forests was no reason to be happy but the atmospheric effect was definitely worth recording. Humidity does about the same thing but this is Colorado after all and we don’t get to see that color change often. When it’s good and dry around here the value and color changes are minimal even at a distance of four or five miles. Anyway, here is a painting titled (tentatively) “Smoke”.

This was on the reserve with my friends Jim and Vicki B. I met Jim and Vicki in 1982 or 83 just after I moved to Denver. Vicki is a watercolor artist and has recently taken an interest in painting oil plein air. She has given herself permission to do 100 plein air paintings and says then she’ll decide if it’s for her. After just 3 this last weekend she’s already in love with it and says we’ve created a monster. Judge for yourself, I believe she’s going places with this plein air business.

Vicki's first plein air oil

Vicki's first plein air oil.

A good days work. Of course Jim was behind the camera so no one gets to see him this week. He took a boatload of photographs though and we got a good progression. I hope to get it in here next Wednesday.

EW

12 Responses to “3 paintings”

  1. Hi Eldon,

    Your paintings as usual are captivating. I thoroughly enjoy
    your descriptions of how you work too.

    Barbara

  2. Thanks Barbara, and thanks for the demo in your blog.

    HEY! Everyone, click on “Barbara Says” above and see a really cool demo by Barbara from Toronto. She does incredible figuative and portrait work.

  3. Neat work. I just marvel at how easily? you transfer what you see to a canvass. I love your work, Eldon.

    Peggy

  4. Rick Frisbie Says:

    Smoke in the Rockies… You have me hooked. I am always excited to see your blog arrive. Thanks! Rick

  5. Hey Eldon,

    Thanks for the vote of confidence.

    I really appreciate it.

    Barbara

  6. Thanks Peg, and your painting is dry. All I have to do now is get out there to ya.

  7. Rick, thanks for the photos. The one of the moose is most impressive. Is it one of those new ones at Sprague lake? I never got the chance to see them. Thanks again!!

    EW

  8. So that is Vicki’s FISRT plein air oil?
    You’re killin’ me.
    Throw out those watercolors and never look back. (:
    – Coni

  9. I’M REALY IMPRESSED WITH YOUR DRAWING – WHICH IS QUITE EVIDENT IN THESE PAININGS -ESPECIALLY THE TOP TWO ON THIS PAGE. I’M WONDERING HOW LARGE THEY ARE FOR REAL???

  10. Cassandra, hi and thanks for taking a look at my blog. I think I need to start putting that information in the posts. Both of my paintings are 12×16 inches. Vicki’s painting is 9×12 inches.
    Eldon

  11. I’M SURPRISED THEY ARE SO SMALL – THEY HAVE SUCH PRESENCE and SCALE. I loved your trsatmnt of atmosphric perspectve in these 3 PAINTINGS.

    Wish you’d work z bit larger – not so large that they take flight, but perhaps work from the small ones back in the studio on larger versions? I’m thinking of trying this myself. one of my students is pulling it off quite successfully, t hough must admit i haven’t seen the larger versions, and have only seen the smaller ones
    but it makes traveling and hauling around the support media in the field, much easier. And i’m a huge fan of making it all much easier.

    and plaase subrscribe me to your blog.
    thanks,
    c

  12. Eldon, I sure have enjoyed your pictures. I’m looking at them here at Toni’s in the mountains.

Leave a Reply

