Is this painting awesome or what!?

"Contemplation"

OK everybody, you are in for a treat. Check out Dawns web site where you’ll see a whole bunch more like the painting above. This piece measures 12×16 inches and is done in oil.     www.DawnNormaliOils.com 

This jewel is now a part of my collection. It was painted by my friend and fellow painter Dawn Normali and I just gotta show it off. It’s filled with vivid color, luscious brush strokes and shows total confidence in execution. Dawn placed every stroke right where she wanted it and never looked back. This photo doesn’t do it justice but maybe the next few will show you why I love this painting so much.  

 My favorite part of the painting. The abstract element here is spot on. Squint down a little bit and you’ll see what I mean. If we took away all but the face, hand, arm and elbow we’d still be left with a wonderfully designed painting.

 

Look at the freedom in the brushwork making up the hair on the left.

Check out the eye on the right. One small stroke was all it took.

This is a detail of the lady’s shirt. Some of this paint stands up an eighth of an inch.  I’ve never had this kind of guts. Wow! What a painting!

5 Responses to “Is this painting awesome or what!?”

  1. Oh my goodness! This is a wonderful painting by Dawn. What a treat to own it. Please extend my compliments to her for a terrific piece of art. I love it. I need something like that in my collection, don’t you think?

    Peggy

  2. Yes, it’s really cool to have this one. It would fit wonderfully into just about any collection. I’m just lucky it’s in mine.

  3. I love Dawn’s work! You are lucky to have this one!

  4. Yes Leslie, I am very lucky. You ought to see it in person. The color is so rich.

  5. Hi Eldon,

    You’re right this is a magnificent painting. In the larger view it’s so
    lush — a painting by someone who loves paint.

    Thanks for sharing it with us.

    Barbara

Leave a Reply

