Stay tuned #2


I started again today pretty much like yesterday. I wanted the bushes to go in next and I wanted them about finished before going on to the rest of the foreground so I laid in the darks and worked my way light from there. The darks in this photo are warm. I used Grey Of Grey, (by Holbein), Burnt Sienna and a touch of Bright Red. Then I mixed a dark green and brushed in some shadows areas in the bush. The green is a variation of the tree color using Ultramarine Blue, Cadmium Yellow Pale and Bright Red or Cadmium Orange. (You’ll see those greens in the next photo.)

 


Then the light side of the bushes done with more of the tree color and some indication of the shadows. The bushes are finished (I hope) and I’m thinking of what I’m going to do with all the shadow area in the foreground. Turns out the treatment of this foreground is going to be as new to me as it is to all of you.

 

Most of what is going to serve as detail is going to be painted over the grey and rust colored areas. I want some of it to show through. The rust color is going to warm up the cooler greens I’m going to paint over it and the grey is going to cool some warmer grey colors I plan to put into the pathway. The rust color is made up of Grey Of Grey, Burnt Sienna and some Bright Red. I added a little titanium White to bring up the value. The grey in the pathway is mixed from Grey of Grey, Cobalt Blue and a smidg of Bright Red.

 

 


And this is where I’ve got to stop for today. I’m very happy with the way the shadow area in the foreground is turning out. The greens are mixed same ole same ole with the tree colors of Ultramarine Blue, Cadmium Yellow Pale with variations by adding White, Yellow Ochre, Cadmium Orange, Bright Red or Indian Yellow depending on how close or how far back into the picture plane it was going to be brushed. Debra is beginning to wonder about the pink people. I’ve got about 11 hours in this now. More to come……..EW

2 Responses to “Stay tuned #2”

  1. Love the grayed purple for the shadows with little hints of lavender and green…this is wonderful! The painting is moving forward magnificently!!! I am in love with the grace of the middle ground bush and the shapes of the shadows!! By the way don’t worry about a long blog….I may well be the queen of long blogs with my mini novels I post!! LOL!

  2. Thanks Theresa, I’ve really had a fun time doing this one. I usually wait until I finish a painting before I post it. This was taking a little bit of a chance posting as I went. Turned out OK tho.
    EW

Leave a Reply

