The Smorgasbord!!

 Hello everyone,

Debra set me up with this YouTube Video.   Eldon’s YouTube Video  It’s the video version of the last demo I did of “Sunshine and Shadow”. Nothin fancy but it goes a little quicker than the blog did. Let me know what ya think. You can’t critique the voice tho. 🙂 

This blog is a little long. There’s some art work down a ways. Stick around, it’s worth it.

 

From time to time over the last few months I’ve posted links to several blogs and/or websites belonging to friends and colleagues. This week I’m going to list a bunch of them for you. Please, visit as many as you can, leave comments where you can and above all enjoy yourselves. You’re going to find poets, fiction writers, artists and galleries. There is a lot to see so come back and visit through the week. Let the feast begin!!

Coni Grant    Coni’s going in a new direction for a while. She is taking her students into color, composition and abstraction. Coni is a great teacher, check in and see what she has to say.

Peggy Hill     Peggy is a wonderful friend. I met Peggy in a chat room for poets several years ago and am totally taken by her work. I read it on line for a very long time but her work took on an entirely new dimension when she read aloud to me and my family when she came to visit.

Barbara M.     A new friend of mine from Canada. Barbara teaches and does portraiture work mostly of her family and the people around her. She works in acrylic and has a unique way of expressing herself. You’ll love the use of color.

Mario Acevedo     Mario and I go back to the 80’s when we were meeting with the Cosmic Onion Writers Group. Mario was working on his first “Vampire” book and I was throwing out some mega awful poetry. Better know to most as pohtree. Mario has since had some great success with his writing. Check out his take on the vampire thang.

Doug Martin     A painting buddy of mine. When we go paint sometimes the nonsense gets in the way and we do more goofin around than we do painting. Never is there a dull moment when Doug is around not to mention he’s on he__ of a painter.

Cynthia Reid     I met Cynthia 2 or 3 years ago in Estes Park at the plein air event. She’s a landscape artist working with bright bold color and a KNIFE!!! Her work also hangs ( in this part of the country) at Stoneheart Gallery in Evergreen Colorado.

Theresa Rankin     A new friend. Wow! What a painter. She’s threatening to do a demo in her blog. I can hardly wait.

Doug Holdread     Doug and Lori are friends just made. Doug is working on the Pinon Canyon expansion opposition project and we painted together in Sept. this year for the first time. I posted a while back about what the army plans to do to the ranchers in S.E. Colorado. If ya missed it go have a look.

Leslie Allen     Leslie says she knows what she wants to be when she grows up. And she’s doing a wonderful job of it. Check her site out. Her Canadian roots take her back to her artist grandfather who told her “Paint what you see.” She’s been doing it since age 12.

Dawn Normali    Super cool lady and paints like it’s goin outta style. I posted a painting I purchased from her at her last show at Earthwood Gallery in Boulder. Look back in my posts if you missed the painting earlier.

Earthwood Collections     This is my gallery in Estes Park Colorado. This past year Earthwood has opened a sister gallery in Boulder. Coni Grant, Dawn Normali (both featured in previous posts) and I show in both galleries. Below is one of my paintings showing at the Estes gallery.

12x16 plein air

Better in real life.  I don’t remember the title, something or other about “Shadows”. 12×16 plein air.
 

Stoneheart Gallery     Stoneheart Gallery is my gallery in Evergreen Colorado. They show a real diversity of work going from my rather traditional work to sculpture to modern abstract painting and some killer handmade furniture.

30x40

 

 

 

 

 

 
30×40 oil at Stoneheart.

The  Squash Blossom     My Colorado Springs gallery. I’ve only been there for a short time. A really beautiful gallery that’s been around for a long time.

30x40 oil

 

 

 

 

 

 30×40 oil at The Squash Blossom

 

Showings Fine Art    Doug Martin opened Showings Fine Art this year. I’m hanging some small things there right now.

10x20

 

 

 

 

A painting from Showings. 10×20

7 Responses to “The Smorgasbord!!”

  1. Vicki Barton Says:

    What a creative life! You are blessed with friends and inspiration in all areas and of course Debra adds her magic too. Vicki

  2. thanks Vicki! I am blessed aint I? We all are in some way.
    EW

  3. Eldon- I’m a first time visitor to your blog – and so thoroughly enjoyed your video, your step by step verbalization of the process of why you did what you did, and the finished piece.

    Wonderful, generous, so very helpful, especially in hearing your color mixes and how you cooled and warmed the tones
    Thank you for letting us benefit from this demonstration.
    This is valuable time that you could have spent painting!

    I’ve bookmarked you so I can find you again and often.

  4. Hi Bonnie, pleased to meet you. I ‘m glad you like my stuff. I looked at your blog as well and found some of the most beautiful work I’ve ever seen. I was inspired by what you do and have since painted a small piece with a figure as subject. Nothing compared to yours of course but I thought it’s a good start. Welcome.
    EW

  5. Hi Eldon,

    Thanks so much for including me in your line up. Your work is just
    wonderful. I’ve been having some internet problems, and
    commenting was difficult. Wow, you are in what three galleries
    now! That’s great. I don’t have an official gallery. Have to
    get one.

    Take care,

    Barbara

  6. Hi Barbara, my pleasure. I just get to thinking maybe folks would like to see something else nice for a change. I’ve another idea along that line too. I’ll emaill ya.
    EW

  7. Woohoo…I love all these paintings….I always look at the pictures first and then read. Ok Double woohoo!!! Thank you for being kind enough to include me in your list…I am honored to be surrounded by such names and very honored that you enjoy my work….Not to worry…..Demo is coming!

Leave a Reply

