Imagine That!

Wow!! It’s 2009. Imagine that!  When I was a kid I wasn’t looking forward to living this long.  And, now,  for the last week or so I’ve actually been excited about January 1st rolling around.  I guess I figured on  January 1st I’d have an opportunity to put 2008 behind me and get this year started right.  Isn’t it said what you do on the first day of the year you’ll do all year long?

Well I was gonna get up early and watch a sunrise. I rolled out at 9:40. Oh well,  it’s cloudy anyway.  I’d crossed sugar off my list as of December 31st and so far I’ve had several pieces of hard candy, a piece of Dutch Apple Pie with Butter Pecan ice cream (lactose intolerant, imagine that!) and some chocolate. I thought it might be nice to pass at least part of the day pursuing  intellectual activity of some kind but instead  spent several hours in front of the TV watching Monsters Inc., Maury and various other middle of the week television waste of time stuff.

And I was going to paint.

There is, on the easel, a brand new 30×40 canvas that was whispering my name earlier. I heard it but some how I managed to put it out of my head. It’s totally ready to start. I put a thin under painting of orange on it a few days ago in anticipation of today. I  was going to start the year with a painting I knew would eclipse anything I’d done last year but the darn thing is still just orange. And though it’s less than 10 feet from me right now I can’t hear a thing.  Well, I’m safe in knowing that I haven’t messed it up yet. It’s perfection in my mind and will most likely stay that way a little bit longer.

And the down side is January 2nd is going to roll around. Then the 3rd and 4th, and so on and so on. The pressure is going to mount until I won’t be able to ignore the whispers any more but I’ll try. And I’m gonna feel more and more guilt. I’ll be lounging around on the couch watching Saturday morning cartoons or napping when it’ll suddenly hit me that I’ve got stuff to do. But I’ll fight it. I’ll experience, from time to time, the energy it takes to get down here to the easel and get something done but I’m tough. It’ll pass. Still, I know its coming, it’s inevitable. Sooner or later I’m gonna have to bite the proverbial bullet. I’m gonna mix that first pool of paint and get started on 2009. But it probably won’t  happen today.      Imagine that!

Happy new year.  EW

30x40/has possibilties

12 Responses to “Imagine That!”

  1. Lovely color orange, Eldon. Happy New Year my friend and Im anxious to see what wonders you will create for us this year.

    {{{{{{{{{{{{{}}}}}}}}}}}}}
    Peggy

  2. Hi Peg, Happy new year to you too!! I think 2009 will be a better art year than 08. Sales are slow all over (but they did move another 30×40 last week at the Squash Blossom) and if it doesn’t pick up I’m going to have a lot of nice work anyway. I’ll just paint and stack like I used to.
    Miss ya!
    ew

  3. Hi Eldon,

    I think a lot of artists reading your blog are going “uh huh, I know
    what you mean brother!” At least I do. We still have my studio
    in Christmas mode, so I’ll give myself a break.

    Take care,
    and if you paint the way you clearly do so well, it’s going to be
    another great year.

    Happy New Year,

    Barbara

  4. Vicki Barton Says:

    paint me!…..paint meee! can you hear it nowwwwww? Vicki and Jim

  5. Rick Frisbie Says:

    Hi Eldon, Why is it so difficult to do the thing we must? I’m trying the painting a day schedule. This is my fourth week. I am tacking them up on the wall when I “finish”…stacking soon. Those plus the last several years of work are crowding me! Thanks for the funny blog and the truth! Happy new year. Rick

  6. Hey Eldon…I get it completely…I will be posting a blog on this New Years subject shortly…maybe this evening or first thing in the morning. But for now….you got what it takes…you are a great artist…and ….you have something to say. So pick up those brushes and start kicking some a**!!!
    Talk to you later and may you and yours have the bestest most creative prosperous, healthy and happy New Year ever!!!
    Theresa

  7. Barbara, I guess we all need to lay around for a day once in a while. The ole batteriess need to recharge so the next painting gets the energy it deserves.
    I think we’re all looking forward to a great year in 09. We at least need one. I didn’t do great in art sales but I’m still in business. Upward and onward right?
    EW

  8. Vicki, You guys make me smile.
    Yes I hear it. It all seems so clear to me now.:) How much did jim have to do with that comment. Sounds like something he’d say. 🙂
    EW

  9. Vicki Barton Says:

    You are right! Jim was the mastermind of the still small voice. Glad you are making progress!

  10. Hi Theresa, I’ll be looking for your next post. The new years thing is always great fodder for conversation. I really don’t regret layin around for a day. I deserved it I think (we all do sometimes) but I’d planned it differently. The energy was good when I began this last piece.
    EW

  11. I knew it!! Tell him Hi for me.
    EW

  12. Hey Rick! Good to hear from ya. A painting a day huh? Wow! Now that takes disipline. You know though what that’s going to do over a years time? Dang, I can hardly wait until next summer when we all get back to Estes Park. Do me a favor ok? Send me a photo of what you’ve been up to lately.
    EW

Leave a Reply

