When Yer Havin Fun

oil, 12x16 "Last of the Shadows"

Has another week gone by? Geez Louise how time flies when yer having fun.

But I’m thinking I missed something because here it is Saturday night and I don’t really remember having any fun. I suppose if I were to think about it for a while I’ll come up with a memory of something that could have been fun. It won’t be easy, though, as my next thought eludes me much of the time and my memory, being the first to have gone, lies to me as often as not.

Anyway, how would I recognize something as fun if I’m not even sure what fun is. To help me figure that out I guess it would be good to have a real working definition of “fun”. With out going to the dictionary my memory of “fun” tells me it has to do with a slobbering, screaming, euphoric, all out expenditure of energy mixed with a bit of the unknown and laced with at least the slightest amount of danger. All at the same time!

Looking back on this past week, I remember the slobbering totally and even a little screaming. No wait, I wanted to scream but didn’t. No fun. Euphoria was at an all time low as I recall but the expenditure of energy was a constant. (As is the unknown.) Antagonizing my wife held a certain amount of danger but she managed to consider the source and there was no screaming so I’m guessing she had no fun either. Anyway not much of it was happening in conjunction with anything else I’d listed within my definition of fun so….Why did this week pass so quickly?

Well, the painting above is kinda fun isn’t it?

9 Responses to “When Yer Havin Fun”

  1. Hi Eldon,

    Maybe it’s the definition that’s the problem. The painting is definitely fun.
    Are people the problem? They usually are! Hang out with fun people at least some of the time. I’m sorry you had a rough week — but sometimes those weeks are followed by spontaneously fun times that are unexpected.

    The painting is just lovely, and I am sending you wishes for lots of fun this week. My own definition is a lot less ambitious — a laugh or two with people
    I enjoy. I guess I’m lucky because I work with funny people and that tends to be fun. Prescription from Dr. Muir = fun movies, fun music plus good food and fun people. Cured.

    Take care, and have fun,

    Barbara

  2. Vicki Barton Says:

    Eldon, You have got to get outside and get some sunshine! You are working way too hard and Deb is earning “stars for her crown”. Where is that mellow take it as it comes smiling step by step blogger of last fall? Vicki

  3. Hi Barbara, Yeah, I know my definition of fun is a little over the top but it was just so I could have a little fun with it. Shoot, at my age the definition of fun is way down the scale from screaming and all that. Perhaps a disclaimer is in order. Yes?
    EW

  4. Whoa Vicki! To serious. Way to serious. The real dictionary, in one of it’s definitions of fun, mentions joking or jokes as fun. I had fun writing this post so the irony is in the joining of the theme and the fun I actually had being sarcastic. One of the problems with this internet writing is not being able to see the twinkle in the eye of the person on the other end. 🙂
    EW

  5. Vicki Barton Says:

    I got it but….I think there were a few hints of realism and yes the twinkle would help soften the sarcasm.

  6. Another week huh….damned if I didn’t miss it again! Great success on keeping those warms hangin’ out in the background Eldon. Not an easy thing to pull off but you did.

    Keep smilin’, Doug

  7. Hi Eldon,

    You are right. We take you way too seriously. Why is that? I guess it’s because we like you, and you’re right we can’t see that twinkle. I’ve had the same experience with the blog. But all in all we usually “get” you right?

    Isn’t it nice to know that all you have to do is complain a little in a joking tone, and your fans leap up in concern? So much power Eldon.

    I hope this week is good for you– and that’s no joke.

    Take care,

    Barbara

  8. Being so far removed from it, I hate to sound 11-12 years old BUT gee Eldon! the painting is, like, totally awesome, dude!

    and if Debra stayed cool, you were having fun. You just forgot! Suzy

  9. How the heck did I miss this one!! This is gorgeous!! This is not just fun….it’s the whole bag of chips and then some…I am officially jealous!…:)

Leave a Reply

