Home Coming

Wow! I finally got a Saturday off. I spent it going to Estes Park and delivering a dozen paintings to my gallery there, Earthwood Collections.

I brought home a bunch of them that have been accumulating there for quite a while. 19 of them to be specific. And some of them are very very nice pieces. I’m glad to have them home.

18x24 oil on canvas

“South of Jackson”  One of my favorite pieces. Done from a photo taken the year I was lucky enough get into the Arts For The Parks show. 2004?  We made a trip to Jackson to see the show and this was the show nature was showing us. I can’t believe this one hasn’t found a home.  Maybe it has.  

18x24 oil on canvas

“The Hush of Winter”, above, is one I brought home today. It is yet another version of my favorite place to paint when I’m in Rocky Mountain National Park. The river is Fall River and this stand of trees is just around the corner from the turn off into Endo Valley. Some of you are going to know right where this is. I’ve done this little patch of pine trees at least a dozen times from one view or another and I’ve no doubt I’ll do another dozen. Yes it was cold but I was only out in it long enough to take a photograph.

18x24 oil on canvas

And last but not least ladies and gentlemen for your viewing pleasure!! (I used to think I wanted to be a Carnie) “Sunset In Black Forest”.  From an area south of here near Colorado Springs. It’s up a dirt road and over a hill some where east of I-25. That’s about all I remember about where this is. A nice record, though, of where I was one warm day a year or two ago.

Anyway for what it’s worth, these paintings have made it back home. I thought you might enjoy seeing them as much as I have.

Eldon

8 Responses to “Home Coming”

  1. Hi Eldon,

    What a treat. It’s wonderful when you enjoy your work that much.
    Super paintings. Thanks for another great blog.

    Take care,

    Barbara

  2. Ah Eldon, It is so nice to see your paintings. You paint such marvelous pictures. I am surprised they haven’t sold either. I’m glad that they bring back good memories of where you were to capture such beauty.

    Peggy

  3. leicalady Says:

    Great paintings! I would love to be able to paint landscapes!

    http://www.danaspringparishartist.wordpress.com

  4. Hi Barbara, Yeah, sometimes for some reason I get attached to a painting. Don’t know why. Maybe it’s the memory that goes along with it like some of the ones you’ve shared with us that you’ve kept. They get to be sort of like family I guess. Glad ya liked them.
    EW

  5. Hi Peg, have ya taken that trip yet? I know you were planning one. Sounds like fun. I’ve always wanted to go on a cruise and get off to paint at every port. It would be great to teach a work shop that traveled. Hmmmmm.
    Painting is like keeping a diary. A story can go with every one of them. Thanks for coming and having a look. It’s always a treat to hear from you.
    EW

  6. Hi Dana, Thanks for coming to see. I’m glad you like my stuff. I think, tho, what you do is way harder than painting landscapes. As much as I’d like to paint animals and figures, they scare me. I keep threatening to do it but never seem to get to it. Oh well. It’s a good thing you do. 🙂
    EW

  7. leicalady Says:

    Your art just simply mystifies me!!! I paint but I hardly ever give credit to other artists, but you deserve it……

  8. Thanks Dana, You are truely kind. I read something a while back about if you want others to think you are really good just show your really good stuff. You would be suprised at the things I don’t show. What mystifies me is how to get all the stuff I do to be good enough to show. Now that would be an accomplishment. Yes? 🙂
    EW

Leave a Reply

