Dancing With a Sore Foot

Well……..It’s Saturday night. My friend Gretchen (and fellow artist) is probably out dancing. I am not. Gretchen is probably having a wonderful evening out where the lights are bright and the crowds are huddled together in the clubs, laughing and toasting each other for what ever happy things they’ve done of late. Sounds like a wonderful thing.         

No really, I mean it!        It’s been a long time since I’ve been out dancing. A very long time.

30x40 oil on canvas

But I find myself here writing this Saturday night blog, not upset at all that I’m not somewhere rockin out and staying up way too late spending energy that seems so dang hard to come by. And I enjoy my Saturday night in front of the puter doing another post about something I love to do. And if I wasn’t in front of the puter right now I’d be in front of the easel.

step 2 30x40 0il on canvas

Besides I aint to much of a dancer. Never found a lot of enjoyment there. (no offense Gretchen)  And besides, watching me “puttin on the dog” you’d swear I was dancing with a sore foot.

step 3 30x40 oil 0n canvas

I got a bit of a reprieve from the over time this last week. I was dancing.  I danced right down here to my studio (the one place where a sore foot wouldn’t stop me) and got to work on this 30×40 for my upcoming show at the Earthwood Gallery in Boulder. I’ll be doing the first Friday (April 3rd) event then I’ll be hanging some work for a month or so as the featured artist. Yer all invited.

Step 4 30x40 oil on canvas

By now I’d guess you all know how much I dig painting the back roads. I grew up running up and down these roads and skinny dipping in the farmers ditch. I walked the rail road tracks and spent a lot of time roaming the prairie. It’s no wonder I paint the subjects I do.

step 5 30x40 oil on canvas

It’s where I come from.

step 6 30x40 oil on canvas

And a view down an old dusty back road inspires me to paint it.

step 7 30x40 oil on canvas

And share it with you on Saturday night.

step 8 30x40 oil on canvas

By the way. That white mail box is dead center. How much does that bother ya?     🙂  twinkle!

14 Responses to “Dancing With a Sore Foot”

  1. I think this came out wonderful. Two folks out for a stroll. Would be nice if we had a few mountains here in Dallas.

  2. Hello Mark, Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I really enjoy the feed back. I didn’t recognize you at first but when I took a peek at your site I found I’d been in there before. I really like your work, The small still life paintings are my favorites.
    Take care,
    EW

  3. Now Eldon,

    I find it hard to believe that a man who can paint with such brilliance, and
    who spent his youth running down these roads could not also dance.
    By the way I hear the “sore foot” dance is all the rage. What a delightful,
    gorgeous painting. Amazing.

    Take care,

    Barbara

  4. Mornin Barbara, Nah, I guess dancing just isn’t my sport. Who knows, maybe it’s the knees. Oh well I still have a lot of friends. 🙂 I’m glad you like the “road”. It was fun. Delightful and gorgeous is a total compliment coming from a painter such as yourself. Thanks.
    EW

  5. Gorgeous work, Eldon!! The white mailbox is so small and not that bright that I didn’t notice till you mentioned it…I know they say never create a bulls eye….but I have done that very same thing and they have still sold. This is beauty of painting…love the brushwork and the shapes of the houses balance the mailbox. I am with Barbara…by the way you move a brush …I would have never guessed you couldn’t dance…:)

  6. mailbox is not a problem. Very nice piece- it takes the eye right into the hills. Good shadows and color too.

  7. Just another lovely painting, Eldon. I love your road scenes and I do believe you would rather have that ‘sore foot’ and stay home and paint anyway. Tired of snow yet?

    Love to all,
    Peggy

  8. Hi Theresa, good to hear from you. The mailbox was originally very white but I toned it down some hoping I could make it work anyway. Thanks for the feed back, it makes me feel better about it being there. But then, something has to go into the bulls eye doesn’t it? 🙂
    EW

  9. Hey Trixie!! Thanks, glad ya like the thing. 🙂 I was a little concerned with the placement of the mail box but I had toned it down a bit and the feed back I’ve gotten seems to be that every one is oK with it. Theresa Rankin calls it the bulls eye. You should click on her name above. You’ll see some really nice work.
    Miss ya girl!!
    EW

  10. Hi Peg, yeah you’re right I think. Sore foot or not I’d still get in front of the easel and be doin my thang!! Barbara says the “sore foot” dance is all the rage. Aint it great to be so in style? 🙂 Hey, need your address again. I’ve got something I’d like to mail out to you.
    Later my friend,
    EW

  11. Hi Eldon, Thanks for sharing your “process” on this one. I always enjoy and learn when you do that. Wish I were closer to see your show in Boulder! Rick

  12. Hey Rick, My pleasure. Glad ya liked it. Once all this over time is really over I’ll have a chance to do more of it. I’ll send ya a few photos of the Boulder show. Maybe I’ll get Debra to take some photos of First Friday too. I’ll keep ya posted.
    EW

  13. This series of starts to finishes could qualify as my idea of Saturday night entertainment.
    I always learn something from these WIPs’ that you so generously provide, in how you dig in. Isn’t starting the hardest thing to do!
    Very impressive the way you portrayed the rise in the hill from the viewers perspective, down to the two figures walking. Makes me want to kick a stone down a road.
    The mailbox is inconsequential to my eye.
    A beauty, Eldon, and quite a big size too.

  14. Hi Bonnie, Yep, you’re right, starting is the hardest part. It’s all down hill from there. 🙂 I’m happy you’re enjoying the WIP’s. They keep me on my toes and I like sharing them. That sort of thing has been my greatest learning tool. We go to the coffe shop every sunday and read the art magazines and look at all the paintings so I figure I have the best teachers in the world. They’re everywhere.
    EW

Leave a Reply

