What The Heck Was I Thinkin?!! :)

Most of the painters who read this post will probably relate.

12x16 oil on canvas

Every once in a while we have to prove  to ourselves that we have even a smidgen of talent. A run of bad luck, whether it’s bad days or poor choices, leaves us with a twisted face wondering what the heck were we thinkin! We think we “had” it once (maybe) and it aint never coming back. Let the wailing and gnashing commence! 

 #2

Taking a step forward leaves us with a feeling of confidence that, perhaps finally, we’ve paid our dues to the art world. We’ve arrived one more time so those big guys just as well move over and make a little room for the latest talent.

#3

A run of poor luck has just the opposite effect.

#4

And we work and sweat and muddle around trying to resurrect one painting after another until we’re totally sure we’ve been kiddin ourselves. (perhaps for years)  We throw good paint after bad. We think another piece of paint in just the right place or a stroke born of geniuse is going to pull an entire painting together. Then in the end we (I do anyway) wipe and scrape until what we were trying to do is unrecognizable and the canvas becomes a square frisbee that careens wildly off the neighbors picket fence!!!

#5

I could turn this studio into a nice den or put some wieghts down here and get back into shape like I used to be. I wouldn’t have to deal with the framer any more and I’d most likely have a little more money in the bank. You’d think we’d learn our lesson and retire from this business of painting.

#6

But we don’t do we?  Because we keep at it until something turns around and we can feel good about what we’re doing again.

#7

Then its:     What?!!  Quit?!!  What the heck was I thinkin?!! Aint it great when a plan comes together?  🙂 It aint no Schmid but it aint bad.

EW

13 Responses to “What The Heck Was I Thinkin?!! :)”

  1. Vicki Barton Says:

    I thought I was the only one! Easter brings the hope the process will come a little easier and we can look forward to many days of a job well done. Thanks for the reminder.

    Vicki

  2. Hey Doug! Thanks, aint it great gettin back on track?
    E

  3. Hi Vicki, nope, I guess it’s all of us. I got to get out more. I’ve found the more I paint out the better the studio stuff is and I can actually get better at what I’m doin. I’m tired of these clouds, you?
    EW

  4. Nice one, Eldon…..Glad to see you back on track!!

  5. Hi Eldon,

    I think it’s the comparing that dogs us. You are you — and I think your
    paintings are fantastic. This is a beauty. There may be more of a thing
    where you are to be like someone else. There are too many people in this
    town to dream of being like anyone else. Everyone else inhabits our work
    anyway. We just have to look at someone’s work, and it filters in. Like
    air and breathing. But you are an original and a good one. Stay that way.

    Take care,

    Barbara

  6. Thanks Theresa, good to turn one out. Looks like you turned one out also. The small painting of Barbaras kitchen is fantastic.
    EW

  7. Barbara, you are soooo right! I’m constantly comparing. The comparing has a plus side and a minus. If we don’t compare we’re never sure how we’re doing. On the other hand comparison is allowing influence. We must endeavor to perservere. 🙂
    EW

  8. Eldon, Eldon, Eldon…when are you going to realize you are one of the big guy’s? You are nothing less than a top notch, admired and respected artist. Forge ahead!

  9. Eldon, first, thank you for putting words to the universal head banging that we as artists seem to experience. I’d like to echo Barbaras’ reminders to be ourselves.
    Your work, regardless of scraping and self- deprecation, is a body you can feel very proud of.
    We never stop learning to be better people and the same is true for painters.
    The danged curse of painting is that I can’t not think about it, even when I’m having a bad run.

    We never believe it of other artists, only ourselves.

    I appreicate and relate to your candor. As well as the WIP series you treat us to.

  10. Oh my goodness, Eldon. You are a wonderful painter and I will tell you so everytime. This one is lovely and surely worth gracing someone’s home asap. I just love your work, my friend.

    {{{{{{{{{{{{{{}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}
    Peggy

  11. Hi Bonnie, and my wife pointed out that it’s a problem for anyone, regarless, if they’re trying to improve upon what they’ve already done. It IS pretty easy to think that crap only happens to no one but us. Oh well, back at it and as Mark (above) puts it, “Forge On”!!
    EW

  12. Hi Peggy, Thanks, long time haven’t heard from ya. It’s always a treat! We’re missin ya here and are wondering about Aug. Let us know.{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{{}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}
    EW

Leave a Reply

