Practice

I’m bloggin twice this week end. This quick little post (the first of the two) has a short series of steps taken on a practice painting of an Iris. It’s done on an 8×10 canvas and the list of colors used is pretty short. If you click to enlarge notice the edges, especially those near the top. I found, for me , edges are the key to paintings these guys. It was a lot of fun and something different. Something I need now and then.

Colors:  Cad Yellow Pale, Cad Orange, Bright Red, Burnt Sienna, Ultramarine Blue, Sap Green and White.

 

 

8x10 pencil drawing on canvas

8x10 practice oil sketch#3

#4#5

#6

I like the way they kind of look at ya.    🙂

EW

8 Responses to “Practice”

  1. Oh I love this one, Eldon. Lovely. I have yellow iris in full bloom in my yard. 🙂

    {{{{{{{{{{{}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}
    Peggy

  2. Very beautiful and you’re right the edges make the shape.
    Gorgeous.
    Take care,

    Barbara

  3. Vicki Barton Says:

    I enjoyed the way you started with the subtle darks in the flower. Can’t wait for you to see our varieties up close. I would have to sneak in a little hint of the greyed complement (purple of course) in the backround.
    This paining really feels fresh and captures the spirit of the old yellow flags. Congrats and looking forward to tonights selection. Paint fast! Vicki

  4. Good morning Barbara, and thanks. I see in your blog you have flowers coming on in Toronto. Aint it great? Spring has sprung!!
    EW

  5. Hi Vicki, I had an idea you’d like this one. It’s a really nice study. The blog this evening will have a painting of Iris that is finished. Alas there is no grayed purple as I opted for a contrast of cool colors against the sun lit flowers. I can hardly wait to come see your garden this spring. We’re gonna have a blast.
    EW

  6. Hi Peg! Glad you’re still hangin in there with me. It’s great having you as a friend. You’re going to really dig tonights post.
    I’ll bet your yard is gorgeous with the Iris. Do you have other iris too? I really love those velvety purple ones.
    Maybe this is the year I’ll paint a lot of flowers. Hmmmm…..
    EW

  7. Hey Eldon – very beautiful study – looking at it just makes me so glad that Spring is here!!! Yea!

  8. Hi Sue, Thank you.
    Every year, in the dead of winter, When the world is most gray, I get this horrible feeling there isn’t going to be a spring. This past winter was no different but the months have come and gone as per usual and I can’t be happier about the change that’s coming. Oh Yeah!!
    EW

Leave a Reply

