The Evergreen Barn #2

I started here with the barn so I could lay in some approximate color and value. This being the focal point I wanted to be able to adjust value later behind the barn and having the barn already done would be my guide to doing that. I may have to lighten the barn and/or darken the back ground to get the effect I want.

detail/barn

Working at laying in the “S” curve into the composition I’ve dropped a very dark green into the mountain area. It’s probably way to dark at this point but it gives me a place to start in the back ground. I know it’ll have to lighten considerably before we’re done but it’s easier to lighten a dark value than it is to try to darken a light one.

24x36 oil

It’s a bit hard to see too because the paint is so wet I had a hard time getting the shine off the surface for the camera.  As it dries and I work into it a bit more that area will be easier to see.

G-nite!  🙂

EW

2 Responses to “The Evergreen Barn #2”

  1. Hi Eldon,

    I will never get tired of seeing how you create these beauties.

    Take care,

    Barbara

  2. Hi Barbara, thanks. I was thinking folks were tiring of the same ole same ole. Looks like not. I do enjoy doing the progressions so I’ll keep on keepin on. I’ve had several people say how much they look forward to seeing them. It’s encouraging for sure. 🙂
    EW

Leave a Reply

