Evergreen Barn #3

The latest from Evergreen Barn.

24x36 oil

 My biggest challenge was to paint what “looks” like a huge hill side covered with trees and not get caught up in the details. I worked from right to left across the mountain side sculpting the basic shapes of the mountain,  lightening areas and trying to (with as few strokes as possible) make it look like there’s a gazillion pine trees back there. The photo above shows a sort of progression as I painted my way across the canvas. The peak far right and the center peak are nearly finished and the peak far left is still pretty much flat.

100_3906

Then I painted on to the left edge and finished that open rocky area. Several times along the way I wiped some areas back to the canvas (yep,way too dark from the initial lay in) and repainted with a warmer, lighter green using ultramarine blue and cadmium yellow at times and other times just  sap green. There is a lot of cadmium orange, yellow ochre and bright red mixed into the greens to simulate the early morning light. I purposely touched the roof line of the barn with the dark green behind to help bridge a gap between the foreground and back ground. This is a stage I can’t let dry too much as I need a wet edge on the top line of the mountain when I lay in the sky. A soft edge is needed to help me put it all into the distance so I’d best get crackin!!

green mixes

There’s a limitless bunch of ways to put these colors to use but they’re pretty close to way I’ve mixed them  for Evergreen Barn.

30x40 oil

“Sun Rise on Fall River” #2 is the painting I’m using as a rough color guide for Evergreen Barn. You’ll see a lot of the mixtures from the palette above in both paintings. Sun Rise on Fall River just came home from one of my galleries. Just in the nick of time too. I’ve put it up where I can follow along with it’s color scheme and I get to enjoy it in the process.

Soon,

Eldon

4 Responses to “Evergreen Barn #3”

  1. Hi Eldon,

    This is wonderful. I love the explanations of what you’re doing, and that you use previous work to help you with the present project. I do that too, bringing my big portraits in from other rooms to stand against the studio walls and instruct me. Great blog!

    Take care,

    Barbara

  2. Thanks Barbara, I’m glad you’re enjoying this one. It’s been a lot of fun so far. Sometimes I try very hard to hang on to the best of my work. It’s like having a lesson over and over again. It’s reassuring just keeping it around and also it’s nice to be able to remember what it was I did to make a painting a success. I’ve got way high hopes for Evergreen Barn.
    EW

  3. Thanks for your comment on my Art Journey Techniques blog! I enjoyed your information about mixing greens with oranges and reds. I always thought red or orange would turn a green muddy, but I can see it depends on how much you add. You Evergreen Barn turned out lovely. Thanks for blogging about it!

  4. Hi Marie, welcome to my blog. I’m glad you liked the green mixture demo. I guess a picture really is worth a thounsand words. I think though the green mixtures don’t get too muddy untill one starts adding white. I think too it depends on which green and which reds or oranges are used.
    Anyway, come back and visit any time and thanks for stoppin in.
    EW

Leave a Reply

