Evergreen Barn #4/What a sky!

Monitors are notorious for being off color. I don’t think I’ve seen two of them show the same intensity of color or a like value. Of course I’m probably a little picky being an artist and being concerned with those things but…..if I need to show someone exactly how something looks I’m  taking my chances sending through cyber space.  And I really want to show you this sky the way it shows on my easel. 24x36 oil sky

But we are taking chances and here it is. White, Ultramarine Blue, a touch of Bright Red  some Yellow Ochre with and a very light touch of Cadmium Orange in the upper right corner where the light is coming from. My sky is warmest and most bright nearest the light and coolest on the far left. I fooled around for quite a while before coming up with the shadow color for the cloud. I needed it warmer than the sky but it needed

 sky detail

to be cooler than what I had in mind for the sunlit portion of the cloud.

detail

The color for the lightest and brightest of the cloud turned out to be a mixture using every warm color on my palette and Titanium White. ( I see white as being the coolest) I used Cadmium Yellow Pale, Yellow Ochre, Cadmium Orange and Bright Red mixed up one way or another and in some magical way this cloud appeared and is there to stay. I wish I had done a video of this part of the painting. Some information is just worth keeping. 🙂

24x36 oil

And that was a day or so ago and since then my muse and I have had some sort of meeting of the mind and as a result I can put up a nearly finished painting in my Saturday Night Blog!

Yer gonna love this!

EW

2 Responses to “Evergreen Barn #4/What a sky!”

  1. Nice finish – great sky

  2. Thanks Trix, I knew you’d enjoy it. The sky was way fun to do. One of my better I think. Miss ya girl!!
    EW

Leave a Reply

