Evergreen Barn #5

This post will show about  99% complete. I’ll still tweek a little here and there but mostly what you see is the finish of Evergreen Barn. It came together very well. A long day painting is worth it when I’m on a roll. 🙂

24x36 oil

A great example of monitor color blindness. The foreground color appears a dark reddish brown on my monitor but is actually a mixture of Burnt Sienna and Sap Green. It covers well in the progression so I guess we’re ok.

24x36 oil

These blue areas are to be flowers. Flax. I wanted some variety in color in the foreground and this will provide a great contrast in color as well as add a nice glow in the shadow. It’s a mixture of Ultramarine Blue, a tiny bit of Bright Red and Titanium White.

24x36 oil

These colors in the foreground area are pretty much the same group of colors found in the mountain side. They’re just a little darker value and I added a little more blue to the darkest spots. The area is a bit cooler at the top of the rise and warmed up some as it comes forward to show some depth in a relatively short foreground.

24x36 oil

A little work on the Flax done with the same blue as above just with more white. Then a couple of hours in the mid distance brings Evergreen Barn to near complete.

egb 24x36 oil/eldon warren

I may do a little more work on the barn but it’ll be minimal and perhaps a little more texture in the foreground. It’s time to get out the worry rag and spend a couple of days looking the painting over and deciding what the heck.

EW

6 Responses to “Evergreen Barn #5”

  1. Wow Eldon,

    You’ve done it again. Another landscape that makes me want to be there!
    Well sorry — the vacation’s planned for the complete opposite direction, but
    then we own a little place in Nova Scotia. The only real estate we do own 100%.

    Take care,

    Barbara

  2. Thanks Barbara, This was a commission, it reallyneeded to work. I’m glad you like it, that means I did it right.
    EW

  3. Vicki Barton Says:

    I’m just getting caught up on the barn. I really liked the discussion about the sky and clouds. The gradation first is a good way to go. The full spectrum clouds unify the whole composition. We hope the clients love it. Vicki

  4. Hi Vicki, I’m glad you like this one. We hope the clients like it too. 🙂
    I’ll let ya know how it goes.
    EW

  5. I love that barn…..! And that sky…wow….it’s a winner!

  6. lisa ceremsak Says:

    hi–i’m in evergreen visiting my folks. has the painting already been sent to CA. any chance i can get a peek if it hasn’t? thanks!

Leave a Reply

