American Impressionist Society

Hey! The American Impressionist Society show is being held in Denver this year at Saks Galleries. I managed to sneak one in and delivered it today. The opening is this next Friday, Oct. 23rd from 5 to 8 p.m. The location is:  Saks Galleries, 3019 E. 2nd Ave, Denver, Colorado. I know all the folks around here close have seen my stuff already but beyond that it would be a great opportunity to see some of the best impressionist work from around the country. There were nearly 700 entries and 189 pieces were juried in so the show is no doubt going to be a good one. So….. I’m looking forward to seeing a bunch of you locals and near locals at the show. Quang Ho is judging.

For all of you but  especially for those way outta town the link above will take you to the Saks Galleries web site. In the lower left corner of the opening page is a big white dot with the letters AIS inside.   Click on that for a preview of the entire show. I’m impressed.

And below, offered as a bit of proof that I’m getting back on my feet after surgery and getting something done in the studio are a couple of paintings. One is a plein air that kinda went south the day I did it and the other is a remake of it  I think to be nearly finished.

First (some of you may remember this one from an earlier post) the not so great plein air:

12x16 oil on canvas

And following is the 18×24 piece done from the plein air.

18x24 oil on canvas

A big improvement so I guess the time spent in the field wasn’t a waste. The original had a couple of people in it so I put them in here as a matter of following my own lead. I’m not sure though if they are actually right for this piece. What I’m thinking of is to paint them out and place in a few cows instead. There’s something peaceful (for me at least) about looking into a pasture and seeing a few cows just grazing away, quiet, no cares, no hurry, nothing but time. And the evening is my favorite time of day.

EW

12 Responses to “American Impressionist Society”

  1. It’s a very beautiful painting Eldon! Great colors!

    • Hi Sue, thanks. 🙂 I feel a little rusty after sitting around so long. I suppose it’ll take a little while to get back to where I was but this is a real good start. Now that I’ve got a landscape done there is some work to do on my portrait quest. Cross your fingers!
      EW

  2. Vicki Barton Says:

    Those peaceful grazing cows were all over the High Road along with every color horse you could want. Congratulations on the Sak’s show. I’m anxious to see it. Mary Dolph Wood from Taos is coming up for the opening. It’s good to see you working and out and about. Vicki

    • Hi Vicki, I’ve had a couple of votes for cows and one for people. I guess either way it’s going to work.
      Will you be able to come down for the opening on Friday?
      EW

  3. I am excited about the AIS exhibit at Sak’s galleries. It is an honor to be included.
    I look forward to seeing your painting.

    • Hi Peggy, nice to meet ya. I went and took a look at your site and your blog. Nice work. Are you going to be in the area for the opening next Friday? I’ll see if we can get some pix and we’ll post them on the blog next week. That way if you’re not able to be here you can still have an idea of what went on. Good luck!
      Eldon

  4. I really like your painting in the AIS show. I vote for the cows!

    • Hi Cynthia, I’m leaning more and more toward the cows too.
      Peggy Montano (the comment above ) is in the show also. From what I can see from the web site this is going to be a really nice show. Do you plan to be here?
      EW

  5. Hi Eldon,

    I say keep the people, they make me imagine a story. If you want cows,
    cows it is, you’re the artist. But I love how you place people in a
    painting, and give it an added mystery.

    Great painting. Congratulations on your show.

    Take care,

    Barbara

  6. Vicki Barton Says:

    We plan on coming Friday if everything keeps on an even keel. Vicki

Leave a Reply

