Triple Stack

I saw this approach on another blog a few days ago where the artist cropped an image and then blew up the crop. She did it a couple of times until anyone looking at the piece got a close up of part of the original painting. What I got from it was a chance to get nearly nose to nose with some of the brush strokes in important areas. Neat idea. So here is my version to get you up close.

12x9 oil on canvas

This image took me  a while longer than the half hour Jeff Watts takes to do his “gesture portraits”. I suppose in time I’ll be coming in closer to that time but for now all that seems important is getting a feel for what I’m doing, then getting my times down later. That and I don’t want a bunch of half finished paintings cluttering the place up.

detail

A little more in your face and giving you a better idea of the surface of the painting and the brush work. This piece is pretty rough. The paint was applied with an old cheap brush giving each stroke a sort of stringy textured appearance.

detail

Some of you may have a way to blow this view up even further. If you can, give it a shot and see the abstract quality of a very small area. It gets kind of chicken scratchy at that point. Have fun and we’ll see ya next week. Who knows what will crop up between now and then.

EW

2 Responses to “Triple Stack”

  1. Hi Eldon,

    I love this. I love the energy, and bravado. I do know what you
    mean about not having half done paintings around the place.
    Welcome to my world!

    Take care,

    Barbara

  2. Eldon, I wish I could draw faces. To me they are so hard them and hands. Still like to do scenery though.

Leave a Reply

