And down the road we go.

This painting was done from a photo I took last year in S.E. Colorado. It’s near mesa De Maya and Willard Loudens place. I liked the view down the road and the distance. Beautiful country indeed.

12x16 oil on canvas

My palette has changed a little since starting work on the gesture portraits. It was very simple before and even with the addition of some new color is still pretty simple.

The before: Titanium White, cadmium yellow pale, cadmium orange, bright red, ultramarine blue, sap green, yellow ochre pale, burnt sienna.

The after:    Titanium white, cadmium yellow deep, cadmium yellow pale, cadmium orange, bright red, alizarin crimson permanent, ultramarine blue, cobalt blue, sap green, yellow ochre pale, burnt sienna.

12x16 #2

Basically what I’ve added is  another yellow, another  red and another blue. Cadmium yellow deep is a warm yellow while the cadmium yellow pale is the cooler of the two. Bright red is the warmer of the two reds and ultramarine blue is the warmer of the two blues. I’ve considered for a while adding enough new color so I’d have a warm and a cool in each of the primaries. Finally I had an excuse to do it and I am finding I like how it’s working.

#3

What it’ll do tho is change the color a little in my landscapes. I’m thinking so far I can use the same palette for both the landscapes and the portraits and get away with it just fine.

#4

This piece seems to have started the way most of my painting start. Middle distance goes in first. (see #2 above)

#5

Next I moved to the top of the painting. (see #3 above)

#6

And painted back down the canvas into the foreground.

#7

And of course the hard part goes in last.  Go figure. I don’t know how many times  I attempted to paint that darn truck. I suppose I could call this stage of the painting the “paint and wipe” stage. But….. after a while there appeared a pick up truck I could live with and the piece felt  finished.

The Bronco game is calling me.

Happy days!

EW

10 Responses to “And down the road we go.”

  1. Vicki Barton Says:

    Eldon, This warm country scene is pretty inviting with the deep snow outside. The red pickup is an excellent choice. It looks like you are really enjoying the new colors. I’m painting for our holiday opening next weekend. I think I’m going to demonstrate poppies . Red seems like the way to go. Have a cozy day infront of the TV. Vicki

    • Hi Vicki, thanks. I’m really diggin the new color, mostly the flesh tones in these little gesture portraits. Good luck with holiday opening. I’ll cross my fingers for ya.
      EW

  2. Rick Frisbie Says:

    Just wanted to say “hi” and tell you that I am still enjoying your blogs. Thanks. Rick

  3. Eldon,
    I haave been trying to paint some myself. I was so pleased to find that you do one color at a time. I have been painting worship flags in silk. It runs without resist. Sometimes the resist does not do well. I will try to send you some of my work as soon as i get it downloaded. I told Sharon I did not want to send it to you cause you are a professional.

    • Hi Donna. I’d really like to see what it is you’ve been doing with the silk. Please send a sample when you can. And keep painting. It’s probably not going to come really easily but it will come. Keep on keepin on!
      Eldon

  4. Hi Eldon,

    I love it when you do this. I should keep more of a record of the stages myself.
    This is a beautiful painting from start to finish. Just magical.

    Take care,

    Barbara

    • Hi Barbara. Glad you like it. I think sometimes now I’m neglecting my landscape work while I’m doin the new stuff. I think this afternoon it would be good to start something new in the landscape arena.
      Will keep ya posted.
      EW

  5. From the first frame, you already had a painting. I immediately felt the scene and the distance.
    Love how you do the step by step and explain so simply.

    If there was a hard part, it wasn’t evident in your finished piece. Or the one before it.

    Great work ELdon and your process is a treat to read about.
    Thanks.

  6. Hi Bonnie, Thanks, but I’m humbled by the looseness and spontaneous work you do. Absolutely love seeing you work.
    EW

Leave a Reply

