Pink Slip

Well ladies and gentlemen. Looks like I  join the ranks of millions of other out of work Americans. There’s a little work to finish up Monday morning then it’s on to a long long holiday.

Two things about that. It’s good and it’s bad. It’s good I get to paint more and have the rest I’ve needed for quite a while. It’s bad I have to tighten my belt (probably should anyway) and deplete a savings I’ve been a long time building.(that sucks)

Oh well.  As they say:

That’s the way it goes, first your money then your clothes. 🙂

Above is the piece I worked on over the Thanksgiving weekend. It was one of those pieces that fell together and made time cease to exist. Hours later seemed like minutes and I only had to wipe off a tiny bit  for do overs. I worked from a photograph taken in Rocky mountain National Park a couple of years ago. The photo is of my stand of trees in Endo Valley. I reversed the image before painting.

And this next one is a progression, sort of.

There are similarities to the composition of the snow scene and is heavily under the influence of a new palette.

I wasn’t kidding when I said it was a “sort of” progression. 🙂

Night all, stay tuned!!

EW

12 Responses to “Pink Slip”

  1. Hi Eldon,

    I’m so sorry. I’m glad you have savings, but yeeesh — no work
    is hard. Beautiful work as always.

    Take care now,

    Barbara

    • Mornin Barbara, It isn’t a real big deal I guess. I’ll paint more but will be looking too. I’ll get unemployment and the savings will help it go a little further. We’ll be just fine. Been here before and I didn’t die or anything so we’ll see how it all works out.
      EW

  2. Oh dear a pink slip. Im sorry, Eldon. I hope all will be ok. A rest however can be a good thing. The benefit for us is that you will have more time to paint and we can enjoy even more of your great works, Eldon. First your money, then your clothes lolol That old adage lets me laugh but it really isnt funny. Hang in there, Eldon

    {{{{{{{{{{{{{{{}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}}
    Peggy

    • Hi Peg, Ah heck, we’ll be OK. The savings will let us ride it out if it comes to that. Steadier painting time usually dramatically improves my work. I’ll certainly be taking advantage of it. I took a couple of the gesture portraits out to Mark in Evergreen. I’ll call and see how they were received. Also I think I know where I might hook up with a teaching gig. Usually when one door closes another opens. We’ll just keep our eyes open and do what we gotta do.
      EW

  3. Vicki Barton Says:

    Eldon, Welcome to the world of “self employed”. You have obviously been given an opportunity to go a different direction. Your work has been hard on your body for a long time. Savings are great for peace of mind but we’ll hope painting sales make up for the loss of wages! We send you good wishes for your new adventure! Give us a call when you are ready for Starbucks now that you are free to set your own hours. You will adjust in no time and wonder how you ever had time to go to work! Vicki

    • Hi Vicki, One can only hope that things will start rolling in the art business. If it stays slow I’ll still be OK. I’ve got an idea or two so we’ll see what shakes out.
      EW

  4. I’m with Vicki – welcome to the dangerous and wacky world of the self- employed. Some of us wade timidly in the water, and some are pushed off the dock. YIKES
    And at the risk of sounding sappy – I am gonna quote a movie –
    “You are daring to imagine that your life could be different”.
    Bravo! – Coni

    • Hi Coni, Well, I guess I am going off the dock kicking and screaming. I’ve got a couple of projects I’m going to start up and see how it goes but having been an “employee” for the last 40 years I sometimes feel the time at home to be dull, slow and wasted. It’s a mind set I know and it’s going to take some time to change it. Oh well huh? Tally ho!! Plenty of time to paint.
      EW

  5. Gosh Eldon I’m really sorry to hear about the pink slip– but it could be a blessing in disguise- your work is very strong and now that you have more time for your art, it may take you places you never dreamed.

  6. Hi Sue, yes, plenty of time to paint and I think I will try to teach a bit and maybe do more on line to sell some stuff. We’ll see what happens. I’ve set up a second blog. It’s brand new and I am planning to be a little more commercial in the future with it. Nothing in it yet but the next couple of days should see it with something. Small stuff mostly.

    How’s Erin?
    EW

  7. Vicki Barton Says:

    Glad to see you are working on a “plan”! The extra cold weather should be helping you realize there are benefits to working from home. It is a joy to be free to move among your projects and find your own rhythm. Keep your chin up. Vicki

  8. I feel your pain!! I have lived as an artist for some time….and the belt is now on it’s last notch when tightened! Fortunately I joined forces with Max…and things are a little easier now…But you know I would not do anything else but paint. Go go go…your work is great…I sincerely hope things work out….it’s a little tough at first readjusting…but we do that all the time when painting!
    Theresa

Leave a Reply

