Mo Prak Tiss

Today was good. I got to spend most of it with my son-in-law Mark,  my grandson Greg and my friend Tom. They fish, I don’t.  But that didn’t keep them from letting me take my paint box and tag along.

We went to Idaho Springs, a small mountain town about 40 minutes west of Denver and they  fished Clear Creek while I took up residence in a gully.

I spent a few hours right here as they worked up and down the creek looking for that perfect fishing hole. Greg found one and hooked a nice trout. Tom hooked a small one and released it.  Mark got skunked. I brought home a nice catch of my own. A 20×16 inch beauty (my opinion) of a dry creek bed just south of the main channel of  Clear Creek.

I’m happy with this one. I worked on a hard surface (linen on board) and find I like it better than the stretched canvas I’ve been using. I had less trouble controlling edges and once I realized I needed to slow down and actually do a little rendering everything seemed to go much smoother.

This 9×12 piece above, was painted on a stretched canvas a couple of days ago. The edges are very soft. I think the softness has at least something to do with the canvas and the way it has a tendency to be a little bit springy. The other factor I think is the fact that sometimes I get in a hurry and think too little about what I’m really trying to express. It’s a nice study tho. The softness adds to the charm. I like it.

This is Greg’s piece.  (James to some of you) I think Greg really enjoys getting into the paint and playing with color. There is a ton of potential here I believe. I’ll nudge him a little in that direction.  🙂

EW

13 Responses to “Mo Prak Tiss”

  1. I really like all of these Eldon- you had a very productive time- tell Greg his painting ROCKS- he is an artist in training!

    • Mornin Sue!! I forwarded your comment on to Greg. He does pretty good and he does even better when he’s not in a hurry to get a line in the water.

      Thanks. I’m really diggin these new panels. There was a time when I thought I’d paint on stretched canvass forever but somehow I’m not all that happy with the results I’m getting of late.

  2. Hi Eldon,

    Super work. I’m sure the harder surface is better for plein air,
    but I love the bounce of the canvas. After a couple of sessions
    the paint diminishes the bounce, and I miss that drum sound
    you get when you first start painting. Your “fishing’
    expedition produced a lovely haul of paintings and writing.
    I absolutely love your work and your blog.

    Take care,

    Barbara

    • Thanks Barbara. I really like the harder canvases. I used to think those stretched canvases were the only thing worth painting on, Perhaps I just needed a change.

  3. What a fun day you had, you watching them fish and you painting. Neat that you found another surface to ply your brushes on. I love your work, Eldon. Im sure the photo of the two guys fishing will strike a chord–that is a motive for another fine work. Yep, I think you have another painter in the family. Good stuff, Greg

    {{{{{{{{{{}}}}}}}}}}}}}}
    Peggy

  4. Hi Peg. Those two fishermen are Greg and Mark. I have no doubt it will be a painting one day. Maybe sooner than later.
    {{{{{{{{{{{{}}}}}}}}}}}}
    E

  5. Superb as usual. I like your fishin better. Don’t have to clean the catch. all the intrals and all, yuck! Just the brushes. Love sa

    • Thanks Sharon, glad ya like it. I never thought of it that way but it was nice not to have to clean that smelly ole fish. Brushes are bad enough. Which reminds me, I’d better get those brushes cleaned. 🙂

  6. Vicki Barton Says:

    What a glorious day. Your practice is paying off and the fresh air had to be great! I really like the soft rendition of the bare trees. I’ve been doing oil underpaintings for the pastels and it has me chomping at the bit. The pure spring flower colors are really tempting. I underpainted a pannel with Cad. Red left over from this a.m. for a “practice” plein air later. Keep up the good work. Vicki

    • Hi Vicki, yep it was a pretty doggone good day. Now it’s back home and finishing the last piece of Elk Meadows for Stoneheart. The forecast says it’s going to rain for a week. Let’s sneak some paint time.

  7. Vicki Barton Says:

    Cold and grey this a.m. Maybe it will help me stay in the chair and finish my minis for Taos. I hope the Elk Meadows pieces are “kind” to you. Vicki

    • 4 of 5 pieces so far have worked out pretty good. I saved the largest for last, 24×48, and I’m about half way there with about ten days to go. I should be OK.
      Today is a good day to stay in. I’ll be in working on the big one so maybe both of us will get some work done.

  8. I sure like what you did with that little creek bed – but those pines – I will study those for awhile; brisk, to the point, – so nice.

Leave a Reply

