New from Warrenville

Well….I thought maybe I should get back to the business of business and let Face Book jump off a cliff. What a waste of time. For the most part, that is, because I’ve got a bunch of new friends and found several old ones. That’s good!

But….if I’d spent the time painting I spent goofing around on FB I’d be way ahead of the game. I’m not gonna quit FB but I resolve to spend more time doing the stuff I’m supposed to be doing. Still I’m happy with all the great artists I’ve met on there and it’s always a good lesson to see the art work. I’ve learned a lot and have drawn a good deal of inspiration from all of it. And those famous ones don’t seem to care who they’re friends with  🙂

So….Below is the latest and greatest from Warrenville. It’s a piece drawn from three  paintings (listed below this one) and mixed and matched to produce this new one.

This one below is a piece I’d done several years ago from (if I remember correctly) a 16×20 plein air. I’ve been wanting to do this one right for a long time. Looks like I finally did. It comes from our foot hills out west of town by Golden.

This next one with all the blue is one of the largest plein air pieces I’ve managed to finish on site. It’s 22×28 inches and at the time I thought WOW! I’ve out done myself. I shipped it off to the gallery and it waited a long time before coming home. It was a pretty good piece at the time but it doesn’t seem to cut it any more. Time to use it for something else, yeah? I called it “Fields”.

And last but not least, or maybe it is, is a small plein air painting I did last week. I’ve done this scene several times and was never happy with the back ground. I rummaged around and came up with the foot hills piece and there ya go!! A back ground. Please excuse the bug.

Oh, this is the inspiration for all of this. Flipped horizontally.

EW

6 Responses to “New from Warrenville”

  1. Great to hear from “Warrenville”; have missed it.
    This was a wonderful look at progression. As always, I am inspired to follow your lead and re-address past work.
    Thanks Eldon- Coni

  2. Hi Eldon- you really were getting into FB there for awhile– you were the perpetual cheerleader for every artist on fb… which shows the kindness of your heart and the character within. I am glad that you are deciding to paint more though– it is the season and we have to hit it hard while we can. I do hope that we can work out sometime to paint- but for now I am enjoying looking at your past and present works- you are a wonderful artist and a good friend!

  3. Vicki Barton Says:

    Yhank you for sharing your thought process. Returning to favorites that still “haunt” us reminds us how important that first impression is. There is always something that catches our eye and wants to be captured. I’m glad you gout this one on canvas. Keep cheering us on. Vicki

  4. Clay Hinman Says:

    Spring has a way of invigorating most of us. Your work says your rebirth is doing fine. Don’t you just love it when a plan comes together?

  5. Hello, glad to hear you havent lost all your FB friends. I’m still here albeit that ‘here’ is Fairbanks Alaska. Loved your work in this series.
    Best wishes from me to you
    Lorna

  6. Hi Eldon,

    You’re amazing. Please don’t paint over the field one. I love its
    abstract quality, the colour and it is just simply glorious.

    I love your process, and the wonderful work it produces.
    Great job.

    Take care,

    Barbara

Leave a Reply

