Western Light

The 7th of August is the opening for “Western Light“.

Our normal plein air competition in Estes Park hit a snag this year so the event, for me, has changed. Earthwood Collection, my Estes Park gallery is presenting a show they’ve titled “Western Light” and on Tuesday I’m delivering paintings. Of course it’s as always. I’m still not sure as of today what I’ll be taking. I’m thinking about half a dozen pieces. The work can be, but doesn’t have to be, plein air or it can be straight out of the studio and  hot off the easel. I think this new idea for Earthwood’s annual August show is a good one and I’ll bet we put together one hell of a show. So…….

This is one I’m sure is going to Estes Park.

As I get this figured out I’ll post some more.  Go back a post or two and have a look at the post “Less Traveled”. The piece with that title is going too.

EW

9 Responses to “Western Light”

  1. What happened to the Plein Aire Competition in Estes Park this year. Hmmmmm I love this new painting of yours, Eldon, but then I am partial to all of them.

    Peggy

  2. Very beautful painting Eldon- great color- the barn just gives great relief to the green. “Snag” is a very nice way of putting it- don’t you think?

    • Thank you Sue, Yeah, that roof about had to be that color didn’t it? Glad you like it. “Snag” is just one way to put it I guess. Just trying to stay out of trouble. 🙂

  3. Rick Frisbie Says:

    Hi Eldon, I really like the way the color of the roof is softly echoed in the outcropping.

  4. Rock and roll Eldon; it will be a great time. I wish I could be there on the 7th but will catch up to everyone in Estes on the 28th of August. Hope to see you then.

  5. Congratulations. Gorgeous painting! I like how the roof feels like a completely abstract shape — a surprise in the landscape — which is exactly what buildings always are.

    Super.

    Hope you have great luck in the show.

    Take care,

    Barbara

  6. I have just strolled through your blog a bit and like your work very much!
    Good luck at the show. Oh, and I agree with Barbara – your snow paintings are fantastic!

  7. I am so in love with that Moon over the mountains painting. It is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

